December 29, 1961 – England

Washington Hotel, London, England – Rainy, very cold

     I woke up with a headache this morning so I turned over and went back to sleep.  Edith and I both slept late and crawled out of bed gradually.  When I saw the rain through the window and how cold it looked like again today, Edith and I agreed we were glad we didn’t have to go anywhere today so we could stay inside. 

     We called for room service and we ordered a light meal to tide us over till lunch.  All day we played canasta off and on, read and slept.  The medicine we took made us sleepy but it helped take care of our cough.  I also had to take some aspirin to help bring down my fever but Edith didn’t need to.

     I was sorry that our last full day had to be spent in the hotel room but I wouldn’t have enjoyed seeing anything anyway.  It was too freezing to go out and once again we’d been told the cold had created stoppages throughout London.  It was raining steadily throughout the day and when I watched it out the window I noticed it seemed to freeze as it hit the ground.

     Despite feeling sick Edith and I determined we were going down to the dining room for our final dinner before going home.  We ordered a bottle of champagne and toasted the success of our trip.  I had the prime rib and Edith ordered their grilled Salmon dish.  Our meal was very good.

     After dinner we returned to our room and got our luggage out to see how much packing there was to do.  Our flight home wasn’t until mid afternoon so I figured I would pack in the morning.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Patrick S Poplin
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 14:30:36

    The tour of the world concept must have seemed a nice idea, but it always seemed a bit rushed to me. If I ever get to see outside of the USA I want to take my time and see things that I want to see, and are not on some itinerary. Still, it would be a good way to catch all the high points. I’ll bet, however, that Grandma got more out of sharing her adventures after the fact then when she was actually participating. That’s the sense that I have, at least.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

